Does butter go bad?

If you keep it at room temperature for too long, the oils in the butter will go rancid. For long-term storage, put your butter in the freezer, and it'll last for 6-9 months. In the fridge should last a month past the printed date unopened and two weeks beyond the printed date after it's been opened.