What alcohol is in eggnog?

There are many recipes using alcohol in eggnog. Many use rum, some use brandy, some mix both. Using flavored brandy such as apricot or ginger can really change the flavor. There are recipes that use bourbon. May I suggest you use dark rum and some ginger brandy.