Do you have to cook prosciutto?

No. Prosciutto is sweet, delicate ham intended to be eaten raw. The word 'prosciutto' is the Italian for ham, but is widely used to describe seasoned, cured, air-dried ham. 'Prosciutto cotto' is cooked and 'prosciutto crudo' is raw (although safe and ready to eat thanks to the curing process).

---

No, you do not have to cook prosciutto. The making of prosciutto involves a curing process that makes it safe to eat without cooking.