Why do people say bless you when someone sneezes?

One of the symptoms of the plague was coughing and sneezing, and it is believed, that Pope Gregory 1st suggested saying “God bless you” after a person sneezed, in hopes that this prayer would protect them from an otherwise certain death. The expression may have also originated from superstition.