What was the first movie ever invented?

The world's earliest surviving motion-picture film, showing actual consecutive action is called "Roundhay Garden Scene". It's a short film directed by French inventor Louis Le Prince in 1888. While it's just 2.11 seconds long, it is considered a movie.