How do alligators swim?

An alligator can sink, rest on the bottom, walk on the bottom, rise toward the surface, swim at any depth in between, or skim effortlessly across the top. Alligator's feet are partially webbed so they serve as paddles when swimming slowly. To swim fast the alligator uses its long and powerful tail.