Why are bobby pins called bobby pins?

In 1899 the bobby pin came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold. It was invented in Paris by Luis Marcus. This trend gained popularity in the 1920s because the hair grips kept their bobbed hair in place.