What is the difference between a tornado watch and a tornado warning?

Tornado Watches are issued for counties where tornadoes may occur. The watch area is typically large, covering numerous counties or even states. Tornado Warning: Take Action! A tornado has been sighted or indicated by weather radar.

---

A tornado watch means there is a possibility of a tornado. A tornado warning means a tornado has been spotted.

---

A tornado watch means that weather conditions are favorable for severe weather which can develop a tornado. A tornado warning means that a tornado has been produced or weather radar indicates the formation of a tornado.