Who is sasson ated james a. garfield?

President James Garfield was assassinated on July 2, 1881 by Charles J. Guiteau at the Baltimore and Potomac Railroad Station in Washington D.C.

---

Charles J. Guiteau assassinated James A Garfield for an imagined political debt. He believed that Garfield owed him a diplomatic post for supposed assistance on his presidential campaign.