How long do you steam dungeness crabs?

Place the crab back side up in the steamer rack. Cover and return the water to a full boil, about 1 minute. Reduce the heat to medium high and steam until the crab is cooked through, about 15 min more. Using tongs, remove the crab to a colander and rinse under cold water until cool enough to handle.