Why can't cats have chocolate?

Chocolate can be lethal for cats. Although most cats won't eat it on their own, they can be coaxed to eat it by owners and others who think they are giving the cat a treat. The toxic agent in chocolate is theobromine. Eating chocolate can cause abnormal heart rhythm, tremors, seizures, and death.