What does the x in x-ray stand for?

Wilhelm Röntgen stumbled on X-rays while experimenting with Lenard tubes and Crookes tubes and began studying them. Röntgen referred to the radiation as "X", to indicate that it was an unknown type of radiation. The name stuck, although many of his colleagues suggested calling them Röntgen rays.