Why is a moscow mule served in a copper cup?

The Moscow Mule was traditionally served in copper to help preserve the temperature of the drink, and some claim it tastes better served in copper though this is subjective. Today most mugs are stainless steel with a copper coating only on the exterior of the mug as copper is not food safe.