Why does ice float?

When water freezes the molecules form a crystalline matrix that is less dense than the liquid. Because the ice matrix is less dense than the water, it floats.

---

Ice floats because it is about 9% less dense than liquid water. In other words, ice takes up about 9% more space than water, so a liter of ice weighs less than liter water. The heavier water displaces the lighter ice, so ice floats to the top.