How many cups is four hundred grams?

Grams to cups (or vice versa) conversions depends greatly on what recipe's ingredients are being converted, as weight of the same volume differs based on the density of the ingredient. While for water or similar liquids 400 grams equals to 1.7 cups, for example same 400 grams of flour is 2.8 cups.

---

Grams&cups measure different qualities, and are not directly convertible - it's like asking "how many feet in a lb". Depending on what you are measuring the answer will be different: for example: 400g of water is about 1&2 3rd cups; 400g of butter is about 1&5 8th cups; 400g of sugar is about 2cups.