Why was world war two fought?

In Europe it originated with Adolf Hitler's attempt to annex Poland and the attempt of Britain and France to stop him. In Asia it was essentially down to a breakdown of a truce between Japan and China, Japan's efforts to conquer parts of China and Chinese efforts to resist.