What's an r. controlled vowel?

An ‘R Controlled’ vowel is a vowel immediately followed by the letter ‘r’ which can no longer be pronounced as the normal long or short vowel. For example, the "a" in the words 'car' and 'are' do not make the short 'a' sound such as in apple, nor the long 'a' sound such as in acorn.