Where did the aids virus come from?

AIDS (HIV) is a retro-virus that originated in non-human primates in central and west Africa and is believed to have spread from chimpanzees who carried their own mutated form of the virus, SID. HIV is the virus, AIDS is the condition that occurs one the virus has infected its host.