When were cavemen alive?

Early members of the genus Homo, often referred to as cavemen, originated in the Paleolithic age. Homo habilis is considered by many to be the first human species. Archeological findings of ancient stone tools suggest that they lived between 2.1 and 1.5 million years ago.