What's the difference between a nurse practitioner and a physician's assistant?

A nurse practitioner has a nursing background but has earned additional master or doctorate level degrees and completed additional programs. A P-A has a degree, but has then gone through an additional 2-3 year medical based P -A program. Both are considered independent licensed practitioners.