What does waxing the moon mean?

A waxing moon is any phase of the moon during the lunar cycle between the new moon and the full moon. A waxing moon is one, that is getting larger each night. The lunar cycle is a period of about 29 days, as the moon's shape seems to change from our vantage point on Earth.

---

A waxing moon is when the lighted portion of the moon as observed from earth is gaining in size. That is, from new moon to full.