How long does it take to make ice cubes in the freezer?

In most situations, ice made in a standard ice tray takes about three to four hours to freeze in your home freezer. Water freezes when it reaches 32 degrees Fahrenheit (0 degree Celsius). The surface area of the ice will also affect freezing time, since ice begins to freeze from the outside in.