Is washington d. c. in a state?

No, Washington D.C. is not in a state. The D. C. stands for District of Colombia, not a state, but a district. The U.S. Constitution provided for a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of the U.S. Congress, and the District is therefore not a part of any U.S. state.