What's the difference between a theory and a hypothesis?

To scientists, a hypothesis is a reasonable guess. A theory is a hypothesis that has been proven to some acceptable level of certainty and accepted by the scientific community as being true.

---

A theory is "how something is presumed to work", and has probability, proof, or circumstantial evidence to back it up, while a hypothesis is "a probable guess", and has no evidence nor proof.