Is a fox more like a dog or a cat?

foxes are part of the large taxonomic family called Canidae, which include dogs

---

Foxes are more like dogs. Both are members of the zoological subfamily Canidae. In an experimental breeding program, foxes were selected for friendliness to humans. After several generations, they started behaving like domestic dogs. They also developed spotted coats and floppy ears.