Why is it called pound cake?

Pound Cake got its name because the recipe originally called for one pound each of flour, sugar, butter, and eggs.

---

Originally, the recipe called for one pound each of flour, sugar, butter, and eggs.

---

True Pound Cake is a recipe that dates back to the 1700s. It gets the name "pound cake", because of how it's made. Originally, the recipe called for one pound each of flour, sugar, butter, and eggs.