What was the death rate of the black plague?

There are no exact figures for the death toll; the rate varied widely by region. A death rate as high as 60% in Europe has been suggested by historian Ole Benedictow. In total, the plague may have reduced the world population from an estimated 475 million to 350 million in the 14th century.

---

60% The Black Death is estimated to have killed 30% to 60% of Europe's population. In total, the plague may have reduced the world population from an estimated 475 million to 350–375 million in the 14th century.