What do plankton eat?

There are two types of plankton: phytoplankton, which are tiny plants and zooplankton which are tiny animals. Phytoplankton get their energy directly from the sun using photosynthesis, just like plants. Zooplankton then feed on phytoplankton and are then eaten by larger zooplankton, fish, and so on