What is a consumer in a food chain?

Consumers in a food chain are living creatures that eat members of other populations. Herbivores are consumers of plant organisms, Omnivores eat both plant and animal organisms and carnivores eat only animals. Humans are considered Omnivorous creatures and Apex predators.