Why are the dark ages called the dark ages?

476 to 800 A.D., was referred to by renaissance scholars as the Dark Ages. The Huns, Goths, Vandals, Bulgars, Alani, Suebi, and Franks took over territory of the conquered Western Holy Roman Empire. There was frequent warfare. The term also reflects the lack of information about the period.