Why is space black?

Space is black because of a lack of light. When looking at space, the bright spots are either light sources, like our sun, or reflect light, like our moon. Otherwise, there is no light so we see it as black.

---

Black is the absence of color. It is also the absence of light. When we look into space we see lit stars and empty space. The emptiness actually has stars, they just are too far away for their light to have reached us.

---

Because there is not enough matter in space for light to reflect off of, such as our atmosphere which reflects light effectively giving us the ability to see our air