What was the purpose of daylight savings time?

Daylight savings time is a seasonal time change where clocks are set ahead of standard time during part of the year, usually by one hour. As DST starts, the Sun rises and sets later, on the clock, than the day before. It is used to make better use of daylight and to conserve energy.

---

It was implemented in Australia as an attempt to save how much candles people used. They then started daylight saving to get people go to bed earlier and thereby save one hour of candle use.