What is lightening made of?

Lightning is an electric current. Lightning happens when the negative charges (electrons) in the bottom of the cloud are attracted to the positive charges (protons) in the ground.

---

According to weatherwizkids.com, lightning is an electric current. Within a thundercloud way up in the sky, many small bits of ice (frozen raindrops) bump into each other as they move around in the air. All of those collisions create an electric charge.

---

Lightning is a sudden and often violent atmospheric electrical discharge; it is caused by a static charge buildup in clouds and the ground. Polarity differences cause this stored static electricity to flow from cloud to ground, ground to cloud, or cloud to cloud.