Do rotten eggs float or sink?

Old eggs float in water, fresh eggs sink

---

Place your eggs in a bowl of water. If they sink to the bottom and lay flat on their sides, they're very fresh. If they're a few weeks old but still good to eat, they'll stand on one end at the bottom of the bowl. If they float to the surface, they're no longer fresh enough to eat.

---

Fill a bowl with cold water and place your eggs in the bowl. If they sink to the bottom and lay flat on their sides, they're fresh. If they're a few weeks old but still good to eat, they'll stand on one end at the bottom of the bowl. Rotten eggs will float to the surface.