Why is a woodchuck called a woodchuck?

They actually get their name from the Algonquin tribe of Native Americans, who originally called them “wuchak.” English settlers, in trying to use that word, likely came up with the name “woodchuck.” Woodchucks are also known as groundhogs, land beavers, and whistling pigs.