How many people can the world hold?

Scientists have set the maximum sustainable population of earth between 9 and 10 billion. This number is based on current technology for food production and ability to access clean water.

---

10 billion people are​ the uppermost population limit where food is concerned. Because it's extremely unlikely that everyone will agree to stop eating meat.