How many weeks does it take to have a baby?

Pregnancy lasts for about 280 days or 40 weeks. A preterm or premature baby is delivered before 37 weeks of your pregnancy. Extremely preterm infants are born 23 through 28 weeks.

---

Most women will go into labour between 38 and 42 weeks of pregnancy. When you are around 37 weeks pregnant, if it’s your first pregnancy you may feel more comfortable as your baby moves down ready to be born, although you will probably feel increased pressure in your lower abdomen.