What are the degrees of burns?

1st º burns are red, painful, dry, and with no blisters. 2nd º burns look red, blistered, and may be swollen and painful. 3rd º burns may look white or blackened and charred. 4th º burns go through the skin to deeper tissue, possibly involving muscle and bone.