Who is baby yoda in the mandalorian?

The baby of the same species as Yoda is officially called "The Child" in The Mandalorian. He's male and 50 years old. He eats soup and maybe frogs. He's Force-sensitive and can levitate objects. He has something that evil people want so he's in danger.