What's the coldest month?

The three-month stretch from December through February that typically features the coldest temperatures of the year in many locations across the United States. The western states mid-December, Eastern and Central States late January, and The Rocky Mountains states in February

---

The coldest month varies by location. January and February are typically the coldest months in the northern hemisphere, but those are the hottest months in the southern hemisphere. In the southern hemisphere, July and August are the coldest months. Ask about a specific location.