What was the population of the united states during the civil war?

The American Civil War (1860-1865) 1860 - U.S. Census. U.S. population: 31,443,321. Total number of slaves in the Lower South : 2,312,352 (47% of total population).

---

The total population of the United States at the beginning of the Civil War was 31,183,582.