What happened in nineteen sixty four?

A brand new house costs $13,050.00, Average yearly income was $6,000.The cost of living increased by 1.28%. Average rent cost $115.00 a month. gas per gallon was 30 cents, a loaf of bread was 21 cents, postage stamp was 5 cents. Martin Luther King won the Nobel Peace prize.