When was the first episode of tom and jerry?

Puss gets the boot is widely considered to be the first Tom & Jerry short, although the cat and mouse were called Jasper and Jinx. It was released February 10th 1940. The midnight snack, the first short to feature Tom and Jerry credited as themselves was released July 19th 1941