How much money does it cost to adopt a child?

Adoptive Families Magazine surveyed 1,100 families who adopted a child in 2012-2013 and reported the average Total Cost: Adoption Agency - $39,966; Independent Adoption - $34,093. Agency Fees, Program Application: Adoption Agency - $16,962; Independent Adoption - $3,357.