What happens if you drink salt water?

Drinking salt water will dehydrate you and if you drink enough of it your kidneys will shut down and you will die.

---

When humans drink saltwater, their cells are taking in water and salt. ... Therefore, to get rid of all the excess salt taken in by drinking saltwater, you have to urinate more water than you drank. Eventually, you die of dehydration even as you become thirstier.