Where are the heartlands?

The word ‘Heart land’ usually refers to the Midwest of the USA, an area which includes the north-central states of the US, specifically Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.