When was the neolithic age?

The Neolithic Age began around 12,000 years ago and ended as civilizations started to rise around 3500 BCE. The term Neolithic comes from two words: neo, or new, and lithic, or stone. As such, this time period is sometimes referred to as the New Stone Age.