What's the difference between bread and cake?

One of the differences between cake and bread is the leavening agent used to make the dough rise. Cakes are leavened with baking soda or baking powder, while bread uses yeast. Quick breads, which use baking powder, are not truly bread, as they tend to be sweet and have the crumbly texture of cake.

---

One of the most basic differences between cake and bread is the leavening agent used to make the batter or dough rise. The leavening & handling of the recipe influences the final product, and sometimes the amount of sweetness, that makes one finished baked product “cake” and another, “bread”.