Why do we have pets?

Although early humans may have first sought to domesticate animals as living tools, they surely recognized the other benefits of animals as pets that we still see today. Pets are comforting companions. They keep us healthy and relieve stress. They play and show us love.

---

Pets contribute positively to our lives in terms of mood health and longevity. Pets provide a sense of purpose an object of focus and affection and a reason to get out of bed each day. Petting a cat or dog lowers blood pressure and improves mood. Pets are seen as a source of unconditional love.