What is it mean when a potato is green?

This just means the potato has been exposed to light and has produced chlorophyll (the green color). It is most likely safe to eat, minus the green areas. Producing the chlorophyll also produces solanine, which is toxic in large quantities.

---

Potatoes can go green when they're not stored properly and are exposed to light. This is due to formation of chlorophyll, however the green color is a useful indicator that levels of certain toxins that are harmful to humans, known as glycoalkaloids, may be increased.